to make the world more beautiful – solc#1

Yesterday I read about Paul McIlhenny, the former CEO of the family-owned Tabasco business.  Although he recently passed away, the story was much more about the life he lived than about his death. One part resonated with me, when Paul said to a friend:

“You know, my father asked me a question when I was young,” McIlhenny said. “Now that you’re coming up in the world, I’m going to pose it to you: How are you going to use what you have to make the world a better place?” That is a good question for people of all ages to consider – and the sooner the better.

Of course I was reminded of one of my favorite books, Miss Rumphius, by Barbara Cooney. As a young child, Alice Rumphius is challenged to travel the world, live by the sea, and make the world more beautiful.  Like Paul McIlhenny, she lives out all of her dreams.

Which of course leads me to think, “What have I done to make the world more beautiful?”  I am thankful to be the mom of two wondrous adult children who make me proud with every step they take. And I have been a teacher for so very long that I have had an opportunity to touch lives there as well. My friends support and enrich my life, and I hope I have done the same for them in return.

But as I look forward to the days ahead, I want to consider this question more fully. I will retire before too very long and I want to still be a “contributor” to my family and to the community. And above all, I hope to make the world a better, more beautiful place.

7 thoughts on “to make the world more beautiful – solc#1

  1. mayawoodall says:

    What a great question that we should ask ourselves each day and each moment. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Wouldn’t it be lovely if we all were asked that question often? Or now that we’re older, perhaps it’s time to ask it of ourselves? Thanks for the thoughtful words!

  3. That is a question we should, perhaps, ask ourselves every day. Your question is indeed a powerful on that could / should shape how we live our whole lives!

  4. Ruth Ayres says:

    This question often tumbles around my mind too. As soon as I read your tile, I thought of MISS RUMPHIUS (one of my favorite books too!). Thanks for writing this month,
    Ruth

  5. missmoyer says:

    I think Miss Rumphius needs to come off the shelf and be read to my class today.

  6. James Taylor’s words, “The secret of life is enjoying the passing of time” is now rolling through my mind. Is it possible to truly enjoy it without adding to the whole?

  7. Bev says:

    I think this is definitely a question every person neds to make. As well, how they can make a contribution to help others. Lovely post!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

