a new year

Incredibly it is 2013.

I’m not just wondering where 2012 went. I can’t imagine that the 1970’s were forty years ago. How can I be almost sixty years old? And how can my children be getting so close to being thirty? Wasn’t that me just a couple of years ago?

Yet here we all are, falling off the fiscal cliff, zooming into the world of tomorrow, having survived the Mayan end of the world.

As a whole, the collective “we” are still searching for world peace; still creating music and art that touch our souls; persisting in writing, though not often on paper; striving to lead corporations into success; winning with championship teams while showcasing our own personal athleticism; finding new life-changing discoveries; forming new governments; and making our mark.

And then there is me. And you.  And each of us as individuals, doing things on a smaller scale, but no less important in the grand scheme of things. Because those little things do add up, and they join together, and they all contribute to the entirety of where we are in this world today.

The turning of the calendar to the new year helps us focus, if just for a moment, on the passage of time, and the significance of past events, as well as the importance of doing things better in the future. And so resolutions are born, most short lived, but so important in helping us define who we are and what we value. These resolutions help us remember who we really are, and point us towards who we want to be.

I have several resolutions myself. More than wishes, these are the things I want to spend my time doing. They are based on my realization of the many blessings I have, and the responsibility that is mine to be a good steward of all God has entrusted me with.  Because in that grand and glorious scheme of things, with the passage of time and with the new world on our horizon, there between the past and the future, it is today that matters most. What we do with each and every day is the key. And each of us matters, we all have an important role to fill, today.

With His help, it’s going to be a great new year!

7 thoughts on “a new year

  1. You have captured the essence of why I pay attention to this day at all. Thank you for expressing it so eloquently.

  2. Your post reminded me of this poem that I saved from my daily Writer’s Almanac: http://www.elabs7.com/functions/message_view.html?mid=1657016&mlid=499&siteid=20130&uid=3764bbaae9 I love & believe what you’ve said. Thank you! And happy new year to you & all your family.

    • Thank you for sharing this poem – I see the similarities and am honored to be connected to it. I will try to embrace the big and the small things, as all are important – every day!

  3. spillarke says:

    I came to your post thinking about my one little word (be) and I was struck by the idea of steward, stewardship or herald in your post. Thank you for reminding me of all that is good in the ordinary dawning of New Year.

  4. Bev says:

    You summed up so much of what I believe as well. All of us, doing small things, can move mountains, if we only would.
    I am 60 and wonder how I got here so fast! lol
    I still have lots I want to do and accomplish. Thanks for such thoughtful words. Happy New year!

  5. Tara says:

    Such a thoughtful post! I so believe in the power of collective action – that all our individual acts of kindness and compassion can accomplish a great deal. Thank you for sharing this….and happy new year!

  6. Ruth says:

    This is beautiful. I hope you are pleased with your craft.
    Ruth

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

