the start to a perfect day

It was the perfect day
What I’d give if I could find a way to stay
Lost in this moment now
Ain’t worried about tomorrow
When you’re busy livin’ in a perfect day.

I got up early that morning to run an errand before work. It was a bright clear day, the sun barely up but already bringing things into focus. There were sparkles of light here and there, rays of sunshine seemingly just for me.

The air was cooler, crisper, more refreshing. Just the barest touch of fall color was brushing the tips of the trees.The sky was becoming a brilliant blue, not a cloud in sight.

Finding just what I needed at the store, I returned home feeling satisfied that the coming day was going to be a good one. It was encouraging to accomplish something so early in the day.

I returned to my home and to smells that don’t usually greet me as I enter. The fresh coffee I started before I left, the clean laundry finishing in the dryer.

Soon I left home again, this time to head for school, and listened (with the volume turned up loud!) as Lady Antebellum sang another chorus:

It was the perfect day
What I’d give if I could find a way to stay
Lost in this moment now
Ain’t worried about tomorrow
When you’re busy livin’ in a perfect day.

5 thoughts on “the start to a perfect day

  1. And it seems that the song lyrics sound just right for your lovely day. It was a relaxing slice to end my day. Thank you!

  2. pamelahodges says:

    The lyrics were a sandwich to a perfect day. The smells made the story more real.

  3. Terje says:

    The sunshine and the smell of coffee, the beautiful fall scenery, accomplishing something so early in a day – a perfect beginning. I hope that it was followed by a perfect day. I like how you used the song both as a start and as an ending.

  4. onesunflower says:

    I don’t need to know the music to hear how the song buoyed you in your snapshot.

  5. Tara says:

    What a great song…I love the way you framed your post with the lyrics!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

