the world needs another

I had lunch with a dear friend the other day. She’s the person who always calls when I need something, always gets in touch when I need to talk. She just has that sense about her.

Our daughters grew up as friends and are still close. I can remember the times my friend would call when the girls were young. It was always on a day when I needed a place for my daughter to stay, or when my daughter needed some fun times with a friend. Somehow my friend always knew.

She would bring us a meal when we didn’t even know how tired we were from some situation in our lives. Her ham salad sandwiches are incredible. She brought us an underwater camera once when we went to the beach – something we never thought of taking ourselves. Always the right thing at the perfect time.

I felt like she got the short end of the stick in our friendship. I never seemed to think of kind things to do, never had my timing right for fun surprises or for meeting needs. This was all too true when her husband Eddie became ill and then passed away. She would tell you that I was there for her, but that’s just how she is.

The loss of this wonderful man is something no one has ever come to terms with. He was the kind of person who loved life and everyone in it. He would do anything for you, and he always knew how to enjoy every moment. They were such a happy family, with a deep love for each other. But cancer struck, the battle against it went back and forth for a while, and then, he was gone.

My friend is a private person who always shows her bright side to the world, but even so, you could tell it was a devastating loss. In keeping with her desire to have her husband remembered, the family encouraged others to do good deeds in his name. They even made “calling cards” for people to leave behind when some kindness had been offered in his memory. Eddie will always be missed.

Now, her older son and his wife are adopting a baby, and the little one was due soon after our lunch date. So we talked all about this excitement when we were together, and she promised to keep me posted on the developments.

A few days later I received an email telling me when the baby was scheduled to come. I read it through tears of sadness and joy when she ended it this way:

Did I tell you they’re naming him Eddie? The world needs another Eddie Denson, doesn’t it?

love, me

3 thoughts on “the world needs another

  1. pamelahodges says:

    So sweet.
    thank you for sharing

  2. Molly says:

    Mrs. Merrill, Mom and I are reading this together with tears in our eyes. What a sincere and perfectly written (you sure know my mom!) post – thank you so much for everything you do and for being such a sweet friend to the Densons!

  3. Thank you both for taking the time to read this. You have blessed my life in so many ways, and I am so grateful for you! And I can’t wait to meet Eddie!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

