did I tell you…?

Dear Son,

  • Did I tell you I found a picture of you from when you were little the other day? You were making a goofy face and it made me smile.
  • Did I tell you that your middle school English teacher asked about you? He said he still remembered your class fondly (really?) and he said to tell you hello.
  • Did I tell you I found those buttons the other day that I wore at your football and basketball games? I was so proud for people to know that “Number 66 is my child.” You have such athletic talent and heart, I hope you keep putting that to good use throughout your life.
  • Did I tell you that I saw some “big guy” carrying two children the other day and it reminded me of the work you did for the church childcare? I know those kids loved crawling all over you.
  • Did I tell you that the Mack’s Prairie Wings catalog came today? I bet you are already looking forward to duck season. How a sleepyhead like you can get up so early to hunt is a puzzle to me.
  • Did I tell you how many times we have watched and laughed at Duck Dynasty? Thank you for showing it to us, along with other TV shows and music, too.
  • Did I tell you that I appreciated your bringing movies for us to watch the last time you came home? I’m sorry we never got around to watching them – please bring them again the next time.
  • Did I tell you how proud I am for all the hard physical work you are doing this summer? Outside in the heat, we know that has to be tough.
  • Did I tell you how we noticed that you are so upbeat when we talk to you after work? Even when you are so tired – you must really be enjoying it.
  • Did I tell you how I really do like your shaved head? Even though I thought I wanted you to let your hair grow.
  • Did I tell you that I think I know how bad it hurts when a person whom you believe is someone special turns out not to be? And did I say how proud of you I am that you took the high road and did all the right things?
  • Did I tell you how I miss your voice when you don’t call for a few days? Texting just isn’t quite the same – but don’t stop that! It’s always good to hear from you.
  • Did I tell you that the neighbors complimented our driveway that you cleaned? Your painting and mulching and other jobs have really made a difference around here.
  • Did I tell you that we are so proud of you for choosing a hard major and for sticking with all the work it requires? We know it will be worth it when you are able to work in a job that fits who you are, one that you love.
  • Did I tell you that I always think of you when I see a good-looking truck? You have waited (patiently?) for a new one for a long time, and it will be awesome when you finally get it.
  • Did I tell you I think about you when you are traveling?  Please be safe.
  • Did I tell you that our friend’s daughter had an accident? My heart goes out to them and I pray for God to take care of her. And selfishly I can’t help but think about you, too.
  • Did I tell you that I still worry about you even though you are so grown up? I guess we always will.

Did I tell you that you mean the world to us?

You have told us (and showed us) so many important things yourself.

We love you,

Mom and Dad

3 thoughts on “did I tell you…?

  1. I got chills down my spine and up my arms reading this post as well as the last one to your daughter. I could have written them both. I’ve been “writing” a birthday post to my own “adult” son in my head this weekend; I could certainly use yours! Thank you for helping to put emotions into words.

  2. Thank you! I look forward to reading yours, too.

  3. BethHart says:

    I might have to pass this one on to him… I’m sure he knows these things deep down inside, but I’m sure it would mean the world to him to read it… and maybe re-read it!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

