the taste of a summer day

When we got married thirty four years ago we moved to an unfamiliar town for my husband’s job. The neighbors on the other side of our duplex were just a bit older than we were, and they were new in town, too. They were very friendly and always shared information about day to day housekeeping and maintenance with us, the newlyweds next door. I wasn’t a very good cook, so thankfully she was happy to share recipes with me. One that I use to this day is her squash casserole.

There’s something about the blend of fresh squash, onion, seasonings and cheese that just tastes like summer, even when the weather is cold. Both of our children love squash casserole, so it was a staple when they were growing up. Now when we are all together I’ll make it, but our son-in-law is less than enthusiastic about it. (Truth is he will NOT eat it, so I always have a potato dish, too. If I make some just for my husband and myself, I’ll also fix a small dish for my daughter so she can enjoy it as well.)

I’m still not really a very good cook, but there are some dishes that I can do well, and this is one of them.  It’s worth every bit of the slicing, dicing, boiling, straining, mixing, and baking to have that taste of a sunny day served with your meal.

Squash Casserole

1 lb. squash, sliced

1 small onion, diced

1 cup milk

2 eggs, beaten

½ cup sour cream

¼ cup mayonnaise

1 ½ cups grated cheese

1 cup cracker crumbs

Salt and pepper to taste

Cook squash and onion, then drain. Mix remaining ingredients together, then add to cooked squash/onion. Stir well. Spread in greased 13×9 casserole and bake 45 minutes at 350, until firm and top is brown.

One thought on “the taste of a summer day

  1. BethHart says:

    Yum! I wish I could have some right now… you do make the most delicious squash casserole! Sorry about my other half… he just doesn’t know how he’s missing out! But thank you for always being thoughtful of him and his “likes” and “dislikes”… and for bringing me a little dish from time to time, too. Love you!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

