pimento cheese

One day at lunch a friend who had moved here from “up north” commented to our group, “I decided I wanted to become more southern, so I made up my mind to eat pimento cheese. I really wanted to like it, because it is such a southern thing. So I ordered it for lunch one day. But honestly, I just couldn’t eat it. I could barely swallow that first bite, and I couldn’t take any more. It was just awful.”

“Oh my goodness,” I said, taking a taste of my delicious pimento-cheese-on-a-roll. “Maybe you got a bad batch. Here, take a bite of mine. This is scrumptious.”

“No, I couldn’t. It’s just not for me. I guess it’s just a southern thing.”

Well, maybe so. But I can tell you that it takes a lot more than a love for pimento cheese to be a southerner. It takes a warm heart, good manners, loving God, putting family first, and being loyal to a fault.

I know some people will never understand what it means to be from the South. And some folks will never like pimento cheese. That’s OK, we’ll love them anyway. Bless their hearts.

2 thoughts on “pimento cheese

  1. Carol Wilcox says:

    Fun post, especially from your last line. When I was a little girl we used to eat pimento cheese on crackers, but no one in our family is from the South. Hmmm.

  2. Lynn says:

    Never knew pimento cheese was a souhern thing, and now that I think of it it has been years since eating it! I do agree on southern folks and their hospitality.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

