melting moments

My aunt makes the most delicious cookies. She calls them Melting Moments. Just saying those words makes my mouth water. I wish I had one right now. But one is never enough. They truly do melt in your mouth and then you want – you need – another.

The first time I tried to make these delicious morsels, I made a big mistake. When I called her to describe my unfortunate results and ask for advice, she said, “Did you use real butter? They can’t be made with margarine. If you don’t use real butter the outcome is not good.” Hmmm…  No joke.

When our daughter got married several years ago, we decided to have a gathering for friends who had graciously given parties for her and her husband-to-be. It was an afternoon come-and-go type occasion with light refreshments and lots of visiting. As our friends left, we gave them a small treat bag and a card with these words:

Moments fly by so quickly – you have helped us make beautiful memories of these special times as we prepare for Beth and Jamie’s wedding.  Thank you so much!

Please enjoy this sample of Aunt Rosie’s “Melting Moments” cookies.

How often do moments in our lives melt away and leave behind nothing but memories? I think of old friends that I no longer see regularly. I remember teachers in school and at church that have formed me into who I am today. I recall places that I can see in my mind’s eye so vividly but haven’t visited in years.

When I see pictures of our children when they were young I remember how they smelled when I rocked them to sleep at night. Photos of them in certain outfits remind me of who they were at that time in their lives. And I think of all the sports uniforms (and stinky shoes) they wore through the years. Their art projects and notes that I have kept remind me of their pure hearts and kind spirits for which I continue to be thankful.

A thrilling musical, an upbeat movie, a motivating speaker, an incredible concert, a kind note from a friend, a brief moment with someone where emotions are shared that cleanse the soul… these are the moments we cherish. They melt away quickly but we savor their memories forever.

From my treasured recipe card in Aunt Rosie’s curly, cheerful handwriting:

Melting Moments

½ lb. (real) butter

6 tbsp. powdered sugar

1 c. cornstarch

1 c. flour

Cream butter, sugar, add cornstarch, flour. Shape into small balls (size of a large marble). Place on cookie sheet, flatten with bottom of glass dipped in cold water. Bake 8-10 minutes @ 325-350. Edge should be barely browned. Cookies break easily. Remove carefully from cookie sheet and glaze.

Glaze:

1 c. powdered sugar

1 tbsp. melted butter

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tbsp. orange juice

Mix well, spread on each cookie. Good!

7 thoughts on “melting moments

  1. Elsie says:

    Mmmmm, those cookies sound amazing! You are so right, moments do melt away, but the memories linger. Thanks for the nudge to savor those moments.

  2. Judy C. says:

    I have a similar recipe that’s called “Melt Aways”, but I like Melting Moments better I’ll have to compare your aunt’s recipe to mine. And, yes, we truly need to savor all those special moments, family and friends. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. Jaana says:

    Even without ever baking these cookies, the name alone gives me a taste of them! Memories with imagination!

  4. Dana says:

    Oh I am so glad you shared the recipe. I thought you were going to taunt us and not give the recipe and my mouth is watering over here! Beautiful connection between the cookies and life.

  5. How nice of you to share the recipe, & the story from the Aunt Rosie to your own children’s wedding. And what a lovely gift to give your guests. I printed it out, will try soon, & I definitely will buy the real butter! thanks for every part, the recipe of course, but the beauty of the sentiment too.

  6. What a lovely connection between recipes and life. Yes – we do need to savor the moments.

  7. pamelahodges says:

    Your writing content is delicious. The topic interesting. How you write is also like a well baked cookie. You write from the heart, and I always want more.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

