stepping stones

When I visited my parents’ old house that is now empty and for sale, the house where I grew up, my daughter and I walked all around and looked inside and outside. Much remodeling and updating has been done, yet some things were surprisingly unchanged.

As we walked from the side porch around to the back of the house, I pointed out to her that there used to be stepping stones there, and I wondered where they are now. They weren’t anything fancy, just rectangular shaped concrete, but you could tell they were old even when I was growing up because they were so thick and sturdy. Stepping stones are not made that way today.

Low and behold, at the back of the house, the stones were there. A sidewalk had been removed and the stones were in its place. I was so happy to see that they had survived all these changes, that someone else had valued them and made them useful again.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

