new life begins

As I wonder what brought us to this point in time, and as I fear to think about what is ahead, I hold my husband’s hand as he lays in the emergency room.

He has had a lot of stress at work, he has had continuing and increasing knee pain which seemed to be aggravated by the doctor’s exam earlier that morning, he is prone to high blood pressure, his iPhone crashed today and we made our first trip to the other-worldly Apple store, and we foolishly went shopping for plants on an asphalt parking lot in a 90 degree April heat wave.

And then his heart started racing. It had happened before, but this time it wouldn’t stop. We came home and he lay down on the bed and it still wouldn’t stop. I left him alone to relax and it still wouldn’t stop. So I said we were going to the emergency room and we did.

They couldn’t have been more professional or more helpful here. He was seen immediately, I was well informed, and most importantly a competent young doctor did a carotid massage and brought his heart rate down without having to inject any chemicals.

At this point he is fine. The tests have come back showing absolutely no heart damage and he is feeling so much better and we are going home soon. We want to find out why this happened, we need to know what to do or not do to keep this from happening again. But for now we are safe. And so very, very thankful.

And then we hear the notes of Brahm’s Lullaby. My first thought is that it is someone’s phone ringing. But my husband is more aware than I am and he senses – he knows – that this is the hospital’s way of letting everyone know that a baby has just entered the world. New life has begun.

For the first time in this ordeal we both have tears in our eyes. The young doctor comes in to give us more positive blood test results and sees these tears and wonders if my husband is OK.

Yes, he is OK and so much more. We know there is so much to live for, so many reasons to make any changes necessary to be more healthy, so many good options in the road ahead. There is new life in this room as well.

He is feeling better and we are immensely, inexpressibly grateful.

28 thoughts on “new life begins

  1. BethHart says:

    I’m so very thankful and love you both so much. Thank you for being strong and gracious… I thank God for everyday blessings.

  2. Anita says:

    Sounds like a potentially life-changing trip to the ER. While itis hard – and even painful – to relive the hard and scary moments of our lives, reflecting on them seems to be an important part of living happier lives!

  3. Chris says:

    What a moving story. I’m so glad your husband was feeling better at the end!

  4. I am sorry to hear of this challenge you and your husband are facing. Thank you for the gift of your story and how the birth added to your reflection.

  5. elsie says:

    You gave me goosebumps as I read this. I am glad to hear things are okay for now. There truly is new life in the room.

  6. Judy C. says:

    I’ve been thru that before with my husband. It was very frightening. I thank God every day for getting us thru that time and that he is now healthy (it’s been 16 years). What a wonderful way of telling everyone that a new life was brought into the world. Thanks for sharing and I pray that your husband will continue to grow stronger each day.

  7. Kat says:

    I’m so glad that your husband was ok. I love that the hospital plays Brahm’s for a new baby, everyone shares in the joy, even in the midst of pain. I hope your husband continues to do well.

  8. Isn’t that a nice idea – the music? And thanks for your good thoughts!

  9. aruddteacher100 says:

    Glad everything is ok…that is beautiful that you heard of new life…God always has a plan-prayers for good health!

  10. djts says:

    I love that they play Brahm’s lullaby. What a celebration of new life! I am glad your husband is fine, and that you realize that you have a new chapter to start.

  11. pamelahodges says:

    Dear fireflytrails,
    Will be praying for you and your husband. Your writing is so thoughtful and powerful. Love the images you create. ” There is new life in this room as well.”
    The first time I read your blog in March. I was so stuck by the images you created. When I saw your sub title, “just another wordpress.com site”, I couldn’t believe that someone so creative to come up with the title fireflytrials would have a basic sub title. So I say, believe in yourself, and you are not just another wordpress site, but one I love to read.

  12. Thank you as always for your sweet encouragement. I appreciate it more than I can say. I am so new to all this – I jumped into the Slice of Life Challenge so quickly that at first all I could do was write. But , I did it! Now, “when I have time” I will give some of that time to making my blog reflect me. This writing has become so important to who I am – and who I am becoming. Thank you again, and also for your prayers. I look forward to more of your writing as well.

  13. Linda Baie says:

    I am so sorry you had to go through such a scary time, but am happy that it turned out so beautifully & the ending seemed truly meant to be, a connection and a message to you both. How wonderful that the lullaby is played to celebrate a new life. I have a new granddaughter & I don’t think the hospital did anything like that. You’re in my thoughts!

  14. Thanks for your encouraging words and thoughts of concern!

  15. Jama says:

    May Gid’s blessings continue for you and your husband. It is always encouraging to read of how you are receiving those blessings. I love that the hospital plays a tune for each new life. How precious that your husband was the one who figure out why they were playing that tune. Keep the faith!

  16. Your well wishes mean so much! We have been to 2 follow-up doctor visits – a heart “electrician” and a heart “plumber” :o) – and have received all good news. And he is feeling fine, no reoccurances. We feel so thankful and so blessed.

  17. Carol says:

    Oh wow – I didn’t know!!!!! I am so glad that he is okay – and you, too. I spent the day in an emergency room with Ron last year (he got all good news, too) – part of the reason we’ve both been working out. If exercising is in your plan, I can put you in touch with a great place with a personal trainer. Close to your home, too.

    I am just so thankful that the follow-up visits brought all good news. And how touching about the lullaby playing. Love you!

  18. grade4wizard says:

    I was glad to read from the comments that follow-up visits have brought only positive news. The way you wrote about this scary slice of life, with the new life announcement bringing a hopeful end, was heart moving.

  19. Thank you for your well-wishes. We have so much to be thankful for!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

