continuing the challenge

The March Slice of Life Writing Challenge is over and somehow I made it. I started this blog in response to the Two Writing Teachers site that encourages writers to create a Slice of Life each day for the month of March. Some days the writing came easily, other days it was like pulling nails from my head. I am pleased with some of the results, and other pieces I know still need work. But I learned that if I am ever to be a writer I have to start by doing one thing: write.

I will forever be grateful to Ruth and Stacey, the two writing teachers, for offering this opportunity. It continues through the year every Tuesday, and I hope to meet that challenge as well. I also hope to post something most days here on fireflytrails. Just so I can write. Because I have learned that you can think about writing, you can plan your writing, you can talk about what you will write, and you can collect favorite words or phrases from others, but it never is your writing unless you write. And often when you sit down to write, the inspiration does come.

And for sure if you don’t sit down to write, it doesn’t.

I never thought the comments from others would mean so much, but they do. I am grateful for everyone who took the time to read what I wrote and then took even more time to write back. The community this creates, with people who are sight unseen and often nameless, pushes you forward and makes you accountable. And it is incredibly encouraging to know that your words have “spoken” to someone else.

Thank you all for reading and for your support. And as I said in my last post, this adventure is to be continued…

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

