birdsong – solc #21

Yesterday another teacher and I were discussing ideas for next week’s lessons on the genres of fantasy and science fiction. To clarify the distinctions between the two we decided to look up definitions for both genres, but since everyone seemed to have their own opinion and take on things, that left us even more indecisive. So then we searched for lesson plans about science fiction to see if we could gather more information. Interestingly one site showed a book called Birdsong under science fiction – a definite mistake. We decided to “think on it” and get back together at a later time.

Of course it never crossed my mind again last night (I’ll work on it today, I promise). But this morning I went outside at daybreak and was stopped in my tracks. The birds were calling, cheeping, trilling, singing and tweeting to welcome the new day. It was incredibly melodious – soothing and invigorating at the same time. Their calls were coming from all different directions, swirling through the air, blending, harmonizing, creating solos and duets and choruses.

Today – and every day – I am thankful that birdsong isn’t science fiction. No, not at all. We are blessed.

2 thoughts on “birdsong – solc #21

  1. newtreemom says:

    I’ve had the same experience of birdsong every morning this week as I walk into my school. It has been amazing!

  2. elsie says:

    It’s interesting to hear all the birds in the spring. It’s such a welcome sound after the winter quiet. Your description is perfect.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

