my faith – solc #11

Because my faith is very important to me, I look to the Bible for wisdom and guidance on a daily basis. One of my favorite passages is Ephesians 3:16-19. We have such small hearts and minds, compared to God’s, that it is very difficult for us to understand the depth of His love. Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians is a good one for us – that little by little we can come to understand how tremendous God’s love is for us.

At one point in my life I was a bit afraid to pray for God’s will. What if it wouldn’t be a good outcome, I wondered? What if God wanted to teach me a lesson that I needed to learn the hard way? A friend’s  words of advice have always remained with me – that when we pray to the Lord for His will to be done, we can rest assured that it will always be in our best interest. We can know this because God loves us so very, very much that He always wants the best for us. Therefore we can earnestly seek His will in our lives with confidence and hope.

3 thoughts on “my faith – solc #11

  1. missmoyer says:

    The magnitude of God’s love for me still amazes me! Easter season always has me reflecting on this;

  2. Chandra says:

    I was just thinking (and talking with a friend) about this earlier tonight: how we think we have a handle on some aspect of God (the meature of His love, for instance), when in fact we can’t even grasp the idea. Made me go digging in The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning, which I just finished a couple weeks ago (great read, by the way, on the immeasurable grace of God):
    “One thing we do know: we don’t comprehend the love of Jesus Christ. Oh, we see a movie and resonate to what a young man and woman will endure for romantic love. We know that when the chips are down, if we love wildly enough we’ll fling life and caution to the winds for the one we love. But when it comes down to God’s love in the broken, blood-drenched body of Jesus Christ, we get antsy and start to talk about theology, divine justice, God’s wrath… Calvary cries out more clearly than any theology textbook: We do not know our God.”

    Thanks for posting!

  3. jen says:

    Thank you for sharing. It read like a devotional for me tonight, and one that had perfect timing after a weekend spent struggling with why my life is what is, rather than is what I always thought it would be. 🙂 Praying for God’s will is often where I find myself, but then I wonder if I am hoping God will somehow mesh my will with His. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

