a happy coincidence – solc #7

I saw one of my former small group students in the hall one morning. She always had a story to tell (sometimes too many stories…), and sure enough, that morning did not disappoint. “My backpack was stolen last night,” she announced. When she saw my skeptical look she continued, “My dad’s car was broken into when we were at a ball game and they took my backpack.”  

“I am sorry,” I replied, thinking surely the thieves were looking for something more valuable than this. “Maybe you will get it back somehow. I hope so.”

“Me, too!” she said as she continued down the hall to her classroom.

An hour later the school phone rang in my office. “This is Peggy at the Symphony. We have your student’s backpack.” Incredulous, I asked her to repeat what she said. “I guess she left it in the commons area outside,” said Peggy. “Fortunately there was a note with your name and number on it. Please tell her she can come and get it anytime.”

I informed Peggy that I was not this student’s teacher, but I had seen her for reading in a small group for a while. Then it was my turn to tell an incredulous Peggy about the robbery. I explained how I had gotten the scoop in the hallway that morning so I knew what she was talking about. I promised I would give this information to the student, and I thanked Peggy for letting us know.

When I gave the student this good news, she smiled and said, “Good thing I saw you in the hall this morning!”  Yes, indeed. And maybe it is a good thing she always has a story to tell.

9 thoughts on “a happy coincidence – solc #7

  1. And then she gave you a story to tell…it does sound like a happy coincidence! 🙂

  2. Christina says:

    The stories our students tell us…I like happy coincidences.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Love that serendipity, don’t you? You told it well too, from including the dialogue and not letting us know what might happen until the very end.

  4. Wanda Brown says:

    Obviously you have left an impression on this young one. You may not see her anymore but she carries you with her:)

  5. elsie says:

    Life is strange the twists and turns and coincidences. What a lucky day for that student.

  6. Tara says:

    So many lucky turns in this story!

  7. blkdrama says:

    I love the mystery to this story.
    Thanks for sharing it with us,

  8. Great story! If only that backpack could talk. I wonder what stories it would tell. 🙂

  9. It is interesting the stories our students tell. You so honor her stories even though she tells so many! Your patience is evident. 🙂

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

