a ray of sunshine – solc #2

A rainy day. Burning the candle at both ends, I slipped away from work to check on the set-up for a silent auction I was co-chairing as a volunteer. All was well there so I scurried back to school and slipped in the back door by the cafeteria. Wet shoes, fast feet, slick floor, and down I went. Hoping to be unnoticed, I looked up into the face of a seven year old boy. 

Suddenly I heard my own voice through the years giggling and laughing at those unfortunate folks I had seen stumble – or trip – or lunge onto the ground. Yes, I had ridiculed countless souls as they experienced an accidental fall. I deserved the teasing that was sure to come from this little fellow. So I raised my eyebrows and smiled at him, waiting…

And then, rays of bright sunshine on a dreary day, accompanied by a brilliant smile. “That must be a wet floor,” he said. “Are you alright? I hope you’re not hurt.”

No, I am not hurt at all.

2 thoughts on “a ray of sunshine – solc #2

  1. Beautiful. Sounds like he offered you a random act of kindness. Love it.

  2. Your words have made me a witness to a unique moment in time for you and this young – but wise – boy.

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!

