guilty pleasures

This is one of my guilty pleasures.

juliska cup

When our daughter and son-in-law married a few years ago, they chose this beautiful Juliska pattern for their everyday china. Theirs is a beautiful shade of green. I have had many delicious servings of coffee at their house in a cup like this.

I am picky about coffee cups. I do not like a thick lip to drink from – I prefer it to be thin. This cup has the perfect lip. Plus it feels good in your hand. Just the right heft.

So, I splurged and bought two in this cream color. I say splurged because they were $25 each. Can you believe that? They are sturdy, and beautiful, and just what I was looking for. But that is expensive.

However, I have never regretted that purchase. I am so glad I have them. I didn’t need them, but I love drinking my coffee from one of them – every morning. They are perfect.

Currently I am reading The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I started it a few years ago for a book club but I quickly abandoned it because I couldn’t follow the narrator’s voice. (The narrator is Death. This isn’t a spoiler, you learn – or infer – that very early on.) And the style was difficult, and I was in a hurry to finish because it was almost time for the book club to meet so I gave up. And I have never been drawn to go back and finish it, like I often (almost always) do with books I don’t finish on time.

But two friends have recently asked me, directly, if I had read this book. When I said no and started to tell them the above yammering about why I quit it, they each interrupted me and said I would love it. Period. Nothing more, but it got me to thinking. (What’s better than a book recommendation made specifically for you by a friend – or two?)

I know the movie is close at hand – maybe already out – and I generally like to read the book before watching the movie. So I started it again. I am wrapped up in it totally now. The characters are like real people I know and I am concerned. I have about 100 pages to go. Max just left. Rudy just ran. I can’t wait to see what happens. And I have a feeling it will be a book I am sad to see come to an end.

So if I had my choice this morning I would drink some coffee and finish the book. But the snow is melted and “I must away” to school. (Love that phrase from Shakespeare and Tolkien)

So these guilty pleasures will have to wait – but hopefully not for long.

book thief

8 thoughts on “guilty pleasures

  1. Julie says:

    I have the same taste in coffee mugs, and the same taste in books. The Book Thief was one of my all time favorites. Hope you find some time after school to enjoy it!

  2. smpeters says:

    The Book Thief is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. Zusak writes so poetically; the characters not only come alive on the page, they stay by your side long after you finish the story. Even death. The picture you painted of the importance of morning rituals certainly resonated with me; I love my cup and books too. Thank you for sharing your special with us.

  3. Terje says:

    I loved Book Thief and recommended it to my friend. It didn’t click with her at all. I am glad that you gave it a second chance and the book now waits for you next to a cup of coffee.

  4. jhaworthoy says:

    I have not read that book yet but want to before I see the movie. Now you have made me more curious to read it. 🙂 My husband and I just had a conversation about him not liking a cup with a thick lip…and I agreed. So funny to read your comments so close to our discussion. Enjoyed your post. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  5. Lisa says:

    That would be a lovely way to spend a day! The weekend is nearly here. 🙂

  6. Katy Collins says:

    I just started that book and had the exact same experience as you! Highly recommended and I hated it at first. I’ve stuck it out and I think I may have finally gotten to the point where things are starting to come together. I think I’m going to really enjoy it! I hope you do too. I’m glad to find someone else that didn’t like it at first–I was a little paranoid there was something wrong with me! 🙂

  7. Tara Smith says:

    A perfect cup of coffee, and a perfect book. I loved Book Thief, too. And now I get to relive that love when my kids check it out of the classroom library and have the same reaction.

  8. Your mug is lovely, and I know what you mean about finding a “perfect” mug. I’m glad you gave The Book Thief another chance. It’s an amazing book. Enjoy!

Thanks for reading! Please leave a comment so I can know what is on YOUR mind!